//
You're reading...
Bad day, Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Health, Mental Health, overcoming depression, well-being

The Not So Fun Facts About Depression!

There is nothing remotely fun about depression, unlike having a bad day, you won’t find yourself laughing about it somewhere down the road… You may well find yourself suffering from some or all of the following symptoms:

  • Feeling worse in the morning – due in part to a lack of the hormone cortisol
  • Sleep – an increase or decrease
  • Appetite – an increase or decrease
  • Loss of energy
  • Loss of enthusiasm
  • Loss of concentration – which can lead to a loss of memory
  • Loss of confidence
  • Loss of self-esteem
  • Loss of sex drive
  • Loss of motivation
  • Loss of enjoyment
  • Loss of patience
  • Loss of feelings
  • Loss of hope
  • Loss of love
  • And just about any other loss you can think of…

Do not feel alienated by this illness, you are not alone. Studies show that clinical/major depression is growing at an incredible rate – up to 20% of people experience symptoms of depression. In can affect people of all ages, backgrounds, lifestyle and nationalities. Depression does not discriminate!

The cycle of depression at a glance:

The_Cycle_Of_Depression

If you think you may be suffering from depression take the quiz, do not suffer in silence!

Lastly, let me ask you this, what do you do when you fall ill? I’m sure most, if not all, of you answered – go and see the Doctor, take your medication and rest. So why should it be any different with depression, after all it is an illness!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The Not So Fun Facts About Depression!

  1. Thank you for the information. There are many people out there that are depressed and don’t know it. They just think they’re having another bad day.

    Posted by Vashti Quiroz-Vega | May 1, 2013, 9:59 PM
  2. Dear DJHASWELL
    Depression is a complicated beast because it is a blend of both bio-chemical and behavior issues. Our brain chemistry affects our mood and behavior; our mood and behavior affects our brain chemistry. People who experience depression should not despair that they helpless. Research shows that a combination of counseling and medication are highly effective. Counseling alone is effective for many people — just talking to someone CAN help. Depression can result from subtle behaviors over time (not enough sleep – eating poorly – insufficient exercise – too much alone time – too much work – too little play – the list is endless). The result can be a low threshold of tolerance for the normal ‘downs’ and set-backs of life. Along comes a major bump – loss of a loved one — loss of a a job – pretty much any loss — and there’s too little in the tank to cope. Counseling usually focuses on better coping skills and changes in life style. Good luck with your blog and hopefully other people will be inspired to take action and not just live with depression.

    Posted by almondhead | May 4, 2013, 4:23 AM
    • Hi Almondhead, I couldn’t agree more about depression being a complicated beast. I know that some people find it extremely difficult to open up and talk about their feelings, emotions and problems. Bottling everything up for long periods of time is unhealthy. The talking factor has never been an issue for me, in that respect I’m very lucky. My major problem was stress. Doing everything myself and never asking for help.

      Thank you for dropping by and reading my blog!

      Posted by djhaswell | May 4, 2013, 12:36 PM
  3. Excellent post and thanks for stopping by my blog. I get the thing about nothing left in the tank as Almondhead suggested. It was exactly what happened to me. Ran myself into the ground and literally couldn’t function. I had no idea what was wrong and thank goodness for a very sensible , helpful doctor. Struggled to take medication but did and I’m glad I’ve done so.

    Posted by futurebegonia8 | May 4, 2013, 7:17 PM
    • Hi Futurebegonia8, I’m glad you’re doing better. Stay strong and don’t forget to ask for help instead of running yourself into the ground. Like me you were lucky to have a good doctor and that, in my opinion, can make all the difference!

      Posted by djhaswell | May 4, 2013, 7:44 PM
  4. Great post! Thanks for stopping by and reading my post for the Blog for Mental Health 2013 project. If all of us just treated mental illness as if it were a regular medical illness and it wasn’t so stigmatized by society, we all would not suffer for so long. Maybe so many of us talking about it is a first step. All the best to you.

    Posted by derb523622013 | June 2, 2013, 3:05 AM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 327 other followers

