//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Health, Memory loss, Mental Health, overcoming depression, well-being

M Is For Memory Or Lack Thereof!

For the first 30 odd years of my life, I was gifted with a picture perfect memory. I could remember entire conversations verbatim, what people wore the first time I met them, and a plethora of other information. I was always a confident person, and part of that confidence stemmed from my good memory.

My memory loss was due to chronic depression, brought on by stress! What a bummer I hear you say, well tell me about it. You’re already at you lowest, and your confidence is taking a beating with all the dark, negative thoughts wandering around your brain. So, to add this to the pile, for me at least, was cruel and unusual punishment. So what did I do when my perfect memory, I relied on so much, turned into a sieve?

I compensated by writing everything down in one place – no point spending frantic hours searing for a scrap of paper – I used a handbag size notebook that I kept with me at all times. When, in a normal conversation I was stuck for a simple word, I would replace that word with thingamajig, thingmabob or whatchamacallit and call it a technical term! As soon as the person, I was having the conversation with, would say the word I would remember it. Now, when I meet someone new and they introduce themselves I’m up front and tell them that I’m really bad with names. Thankfully, my visual memory is more or less intact, and I remember faces.

Many people suffering from depression also suffer from short-term memory loss. This is due, in no small part, to the fact that the depressed brain has trouble concentrating and doesn’t take in information properly. So of course, that information can’t be recalled later, as it was never stored in the first place.

On an up note, I’m here to tell you that it does get better. I now remember that I’ve forgotten something!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “M Is For Memory Or Lack Thereof!

  1. Hi, I just wanted to say thank you for following my blog and also thank you for sharing something so personal with other people out there. You are very brave and I am glad that you are now stronger.

    Posted by I Will Travel | May 3, 2013, 7:38 PM
  2. Oh my, I thought I would pop over to see what your blog was about. Thank you for posting this about memory loss. I have a huge fear of developing Dementia, as I watched my dad suffer with it. I have read so much about grief, anxiety and depression, but I don’t think I have come across articles about short-term memory loss due to depression. At least I don’t remember 🙂

    Even though I don’t need more things to Google about, I am so glad that I have more information. It is one less worry. I just need to give it some time.

    Thank you, again.

    Posted by momof3isnuts | May 3, 2013, 9:12 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 327 other followers

