//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Health, Mental Health, overcoming depression, well-being

I Is For Individuality!

 

 

 

Why follow the pack, when you should be remembered for your individuality. Be proud of who you are, and what you have achieved thus far in life. Strive to do better everyday that is all anyone can ask of you, yourself included.

Remember, no one is perfect, and anyone who claims differently, in my opinion, is slightly deluded. Accept the good with the bad and the proverbial ugly, after all these things make up whom you are today. You can never be to everyone’s liking, and if you were, imagine just how much of your true nature you would have to sacrifice.

People who have this innate need to berate and belittle often have deep-seated, unresolved, issues of their own. This is their problem, not yours. So next time someone criticises you or lets you know that they don’t like you for one reason or another, thank them for the compliment. Inform them, with a smile, that it would be highly insulting if they did like you, as that would mean you were like them. Then walk away with you head held high, while they walk away with their tail between their legs.

Forget the pack and be true to yourself, be an individual worth remembering!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Is For Individuality!

  1. Life is so much better when you are your true self!!

    Posted by SAMANTHA | May 8, 2013, 4:44 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

