//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional abuse, emotional well-being, Health, Mental Health, overcoming depression

Shaken: A Story Of Emotional Abuse And Depression

DSC05062

Hi ever body, my name’s Kerry Connelly. You may be scratching your head thinking, ‘Hmm should I know her?’ No need to rack your brains… no you ‘shouldn’t’ know me, but hopefully you will.

I’m an author, I’m also a sufferer of depression, panic and anxiety disorder. At 28 I published my first book ‘Observation City’, a witty and relatable tongue-in cheek collection of pieces on situations in life and human behaviour. I’m about to release my second book which is very different from the joyous manifestation that became ‘OC’ (available now in paperback).

DSC04675

Not so long ago I was in a pretty bad place, I was in an emotionally abusive relationship and suffering terribly from depression and other mental health issues, apart from that I was in a job that was contributing to my depression. I was basically fed up and feeling so far past low and lonely that I thought I may end up in a loony bin!

I started to change my circumstances, I quit my job – yep that’s exactly what I did. You know it’s got to be bad when the only light there was to quit. Now, don’t think I took immense pleasure in quitting. I actually liked my job in the beginning, and quitting brought a flood of tears, but I knew it was contributing to the deterioration of my mental health, which is an extremely important issue. I took a casual position instead while I cradled my dream to learn, write and get involved in education. So, I studied and obtained my certification in education support.

I left the emotionally abusive situation I was in, but continued to struggle, as I still sometimes do, with my mental health and the understanding of both myself and the situations I have been in. Does anything there sound familiar?

What I started to realise is that I want and always have wanted to feel ‘something more’. I remembered my primary school graduation, where a 12-year-old girl in a bright green dress with matching lime green pumps, stood on the assembly stage while the principal declared that ‘When she grows up, Kerry wants to be a writer and a kindergarten teacher’. Maybe kids have it right in the first place, before they’re tainted by the outside world of adulthood. That’s what I realised and that’s what I started to do, in the simplest of terms, chase my dreams.

‘Shaken: A story of emotional abuse and depression’, is inspired by personal experience, which I hope serves not only as a good read, but also as a self-help book of sorts. Interspersed with checklist material, signs for the emotional abuse/depression, as well as their friends to look out for, and to understand the topic better. I hope to help at least one-person gain some comfort in what may be a confusing situation.

Yes, it’s a scary venture, but I believe things happen for a reason, maybe just maybe, one of the reasons I went through such depression (which you will learn about in ‘Shaken’) was to help me on my path to become a published author. Who knows?

‘Shaken’ is due for release in the coming months, and I would appreciate all the support that I can get as the release date draws nearer. You can show your support by joining me via my official Facebook and website pages for upcoming release information.

I hope readers will enjoy it and be able to take away something personal from reading it. I sincerely hope to connect with readers and hear your feedback and stories. Please feel free to contact me on the listed sites, and I look forward to hearing from you!

PLEASE JOIN AND HELP SUPPORT ME VIA FACEBOOK & MY WEBSITE

By Author Kerry Louise Connelly

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

