//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Health, Mental Health, overcoming depression, Therapist, well-being

T Is For Therapist

My 10-year battle with depression led me to seek out a therapist’s help. As a sufferer of depression, you cannot unload everything of those nearest and dearest to you, and this is where a therapist comes into play.

One important piece of advice I can give you when looking for a therapist; find someone who has more life experience than you do. Someone who puts you directly at ease and in whose advice you trust.This was not the case for me… The therapist I went to see was a good 15 years my junior, fresh out of University and had very little life experience of her own. She also had the annoying habit of pointing out the blatantly obvious, without ever taking into consideration the actual ramifications of her futile statements.

Things came to a head one day when she told me, not even suggested, that I had to move out of my lovely apartment and find somewhere cheaper to live. Like the thought had never crossed my mind, considering our previous long discussion about my then financial situation. I was frustrated and angry all at the same time. Angry with her for once again stating the obvious and frustrated with myself for letting my life get so out of hand.

That session did not end well; I got up from my chair and let her know, in no uncertain terms, that she had over stepped the mark before leaving her office and never returning!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “T Is For Therapist

  1. Thanks for this blog. I’m really struggling myself at the minute and I need to see a therapist. You’ve given me a lot to think about…

    All the best…

    Posted by suzie81 | May 13, 2013, 6:15 PM
  2. I had a therapist try to push pills at me two weeks after an appointment where I specifically said no meds. I was in there two minutes with horrible anxiety when she said that and left telling her I would have appreciated being more than just a file of paperwork, never returning again. There’s something to be said for being able to find the “right” therapist – one who isn’t all textbook and/or cliche.

    Posted by Catching Happy | May 14, 2013, 7:11 PM
    • I found that in my doctor… He has more life experience, he’s patient, a good listener, writes down everything a say, is genuinely interested, always has time and respects my point of view regardless of just how wacky it may be 😉

      Posted by D.J. Haswell | May 15, 2013, 11:35 AM
  3. That is so amazing. I had that with one doctor once, until good ol’ insurance said I had to switch for one reason or another. I’m so glad you found a doc that connects with you. It makes all the difference. 🙂

    Posted by Catching Happy | May 15, 2013, 5:35 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

