//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, emotional well-being, Friendship, Health, Mental Health, overcoming depression, True Friends, well-being

F Is For True Friends…

… The kind of friends who stick with you through thick and thin. The kind of friends who don’t give up on you, even when you might have given up on yourself. The kind of friends who love you unconditionally, without hidden agendas or judgement. These kinds of friends are rare, and hard to come by, but without whom you may not have made it through the really difficult times in your life.

I consider myself exceedingly lucky to have a small group of tight-knit friends who have done just that, no matter how crazy and irrational I became during my 10-year battle with depression. These are the people I would do anything for even if they never ask, I would still be there to help out anyway I could. Just like they were for me…

Since starting this blog I’ve had many people comment that they are afraid to admit their ‘Mental Illness’ to those nearest and dearest to them, for fear of losing them… This has not been my experience, and for that I’ll be eternally grateful. If, however, this is your experience, I have one thing to say, that person/people were not your true friend(s) to begin with. This is not a reflection on you, but rather a reflection on them!

“A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg
even though he knows that you are slightly cracked.”
[Bernard Meltzer]

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “F Is For True Friends…

  1. Reminds me of a saying: A good friend will bail you out of jail. A TRUE friend will share the cell with you… (or something to that affect.) 🙂 Hang in the battle there. My wife battled depression (still does) for years. Day by day.

    Posted by Ray | May 14, 2013, 6:25 PM
  2. thank you for sharing and inspiring hope! you’re absolutely right that true friends will stick by you no matter what, and for the ones that don’t, we’re usually better off without ’em anyway. 🙂

    Posted by Catching Happy | May 14, 2013, 7:07 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

