//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, Blog For Mental Health 2013, blogging, depression, Health, Mental Health, Stigma, well-being, writing

Blog For Mental Health 2013

In order to raise awareness and stop the stigmas attached to Mental Health join me and…

  1. Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.   Link back to the person who pledged you.

A Canvas Of The Mindsa great blog so please check it out

3.   Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel. It has been quite a ride, which has brought me here today!

4.   Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

5.   Leave a comment on “A Canvas Of The Minds” Blog For Mental Health 2013 post and be added to their official blogroll

… And remember, ‘Sanity is only Insanity put to good use!’

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2013

  1. This really inspired me on this Monday morning…

    thanks a bunch!

    Posted by A Woman and Her Pen! | May 20, 2013, 2:22 PM
  2. Thank you so much for sharing your story and taking the pledge. I think you remind us of something we can never be reminded of too often — mental illness is never our fault, and though the nature of the beast is to put it back on ourselves, we only harm ourselves further. I’m so glad to know you’ve broken free of this ugly cycle.

    Thank you also for sharing the campaign. I’m sorry it’s taken me a bit to share your post through our social media, but I’m all caught up with you and have got you on our blogroll as well! I wish you wonderful things in your journey ahead!

    Posted by Ruby Tuesday | May 26, 2013, 6:19 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A ’10 Things List’ for Mental Health Month | WorkplaceWise - May 20, 2013

  2. Pingback: VIDEO / The Top 10 Mental Health Videos on YouTube | Stop Stigmas! - June 28, 2013

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other followers

