//
You're reading...
Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Health, Jazz Marathon, Mental Health, overcoming depression, Recovery, well-being

R Is For The Road To Recovery…

These last ten years have been very intense for me…

There were times when it felt like I’d moved forward two-steps only to jump back 15, but the one important thing to remember, for anyone out there going through a tough time, is I never gave up. There were times when everything seemed insurmountable, almost impossible, but with perseverance and patience, a way forward did become clear.

These days, I try not to spread myself too thin and only tackle one problem at a time, easier said than done sometimes. It is easy to slip back into old ways, but that is what led me down the dark and twisty road of depression in the first place. I now know that stress is my mortal enemy, and I avoid it like a hole in the head.

Five months ago, I took up Ashtanga yoga, which has helped me no end and I would recommend it to anyone dealing with enormous amounts of stress in their day-to-day lives. Furthermore, I use to have to visit my osteopath at least twice a year to get rid of all the knots and kinks in my back. Since starting yoga all my back problems have disappeared and I’ve regained the suppleness, I had in my twenties.

On a very different note, this weekend is the Jazz Marathon in Brussels. Two of my dearest friends will be doing their thing and I’m really looking forward to cheering them on. They have both been such a huge part of my life, and their encouragement and support throughout my ordeal have kept me relatively sane. Well, as I’ve said before I was never 100% sane to begin with and that’s okay!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “R Is For The Road To Recovery…

  1. Sane in this world isn’t really something a person should be proud of anyway. ;o) Highly overrated. However, being in the grip of a terrible depression, especially on and off for years or even decades … that’s not about sanity, that’s a struggle that could lead a person to lose touch with whatever reality he/she has known. That could feel like losing one’s sanity, I suppose, but it’s far more dangerous, I believe; it’s actually losing one’s main reason for being on this planet.

    Staying strong, in whatever way you can, as you’ve done D.J., is the best weapon. And when that fails, reach for another weapon and keep on keepin’ on.

    But, anyhoo, who really cares what others think is sane/insane? It’s both a subjective experience and a collective/mutual agreement that the masses share, which could be an insane majority deciding that their reality is the ‘sane’ one!

    I’m enjoying what you have to share, and I always appreciate your comments and responses here and over at my humble little blog about a fellow struggler.

    *full disclosure: I’ve written this about 20 minutes after having taken my alprazolam (others may know it by it’s brand name Ambien or other ridiculous Big Pharma names), so I’m not sure I’ll remember writing this tomorrow and can’t guarantee that it’s completely coherent. But I’m not too worried about that. \(^-^)

    Posted by workingwithwords | May 24, 2013, 4:58 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 327 other followers

