//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, grateful, Health, Kindness, Mental Health, overcoming depression, Sri Lanka, well-being

G Is For The Grass Isn’t Always Greener!

If you are sitting in the comfort of your living room, office or bedroom, reading this that probably means that you are lucky enough to have a roof over your head. Even if the end of each month is a perpetual financial juggle, there are people in the world who would give their right arm – metaphorically speaking – to have a place they could call home.

One thing that has always kept things in perspective for me, no matter how bad things got, was that at any given time, there is always someone worse off than I am. So today, I’d like to cast a thought for the people of Sri Lanka who has lived through 25 years of Civil War.

A war that has bought significant hardships to its people, with an estimated 80,000 to 100,000 people killed during its course. If that wasn’t bad enough, in 2004 the Asian Tsunami killed over 35,000 people. Many of these people have lost their land, homes and loved ones, and for them every day is a struggle simply to survive.

So next time you’re feeling down because your life hasn’t turned out quite as you had planned remember that you would be considered lucky in another part of the world. Sadly there will always be people living through worse than you, just be grateful for what you do have and strive everyday to change the things that you can!

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “G Is For The Grass Isn’t Always Greener!

  1. Gratitude is a great way to get through the rough spots! The hard part, sometimes, is what to do when there doesn’t seem to be anything to be grateful for. In those moments, I turn to one of the points from one of my favorite books, “Man’s Search for Meaning” and try to discover a greater purpose for the suffering. It’s definitely not helpful all the time, but sometimes, the rain can be refreshing, if you know what I mean.

    Posted by drakesteed | May 25, 2013, 8:31 PM
  2. Thanks for the reality check. I have been going through a personal pity party because of my illness and my job. I needed to read this post to remember to be grateful for the blessing I have.

    Posted by kevindeisher | May 26, 2013, 1:49 AM
  3. Don’t mean to crash the party, but when I think about all of the varying hardships that people are suffering through all over the world, I feel worse, not better.

    I used to work/volunteer/advocate for Fair Trade, back when I had more energy and wanted to fight the politcal battles to help the majority of the people in the world who are used and abused. I got burnt out. I knew about as many struggles on this ‘great’ earth as I could possibly know, and it broke my heart day after day.

    Knowing that people in, for example, Bangladesh (after the factory collapse; a factory where so many people works for pennies a day, just like the exploited poor do at many similar factories in so-called ‘third-world’ countries) are grieving and suffering does not help me feel better.

    If I want to feel better while thinking of the suffering people around the world, it has to been in the context of someone/some NGO selflessly doing all he/she/they/it can to change things.

    That’s what I’d be doing now if I wasn’t so weak. I’d be my depressed self, but i’d use the anger it produces to fight the good fight, to help any of these beautiful, valuable (i.e., not worthless as companies like Walmart and the Gap, et al. think of them) people.

    I know you’re trying to spread some sunshine, D.J., and I applaud you for that. 🙂 I mean, I can’t do that right now. But other people suffering isn’t something to celebrate, if you ask me. Every single human being in worse shape than I am in the world right now is living a tragedy. That rips me to shreds.

    Posted by workingwithwords | May 26, 2013, 3:04 PM
    • Hi Mark, I’m in no way celebrating the hardship of others. The point I was trying to make was that we should all be a little more grateful for what we do have while so many others around the world have so little and yet still manage to smile and carry on!

      Posted by D.J. Haswell | May 26, 2013, 4:02 PM
      • Yeah … that reminds me something that my psychiatrist said in one of our first chats. He kind of asked/assumed that I didn’t have any significant reason in my life, now or in the past, to feel the need to consider suicide. But I can recall a helluva lot of things, especially in my childhood, that were more than disturbing.

        He said, ‘Well, that’s not the point. Many people come back from fighting in wars but don’t get depressed or feel suicidal.’ That’s when he drove home the notion that there was something biological about a pattern of serious depressions spanning more than two decades.

        I know what you were expressing, and I get it. But I’m just not the type of guy who can feel better knowing that others are suffering and scraping by. I’ve always wanted to help everyone in need (probably because I couldn’t seem to help myself), and the reality of not being able to even scratch the surface in that regard just sunk me every time.

        Anyway, please take any negativity I might pass your way with a grain of salt. I do it to everyone. It’s part of what’s ‘wrong’ with me. I just can’t bite my tongue.

        Posted by workingwithwords | May 31, 2013, 4:45 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 327 other followers

