//
You're reading...
Battling Depression, depression, emotional well-being, Friendship, grateful, Health, Life's great journey, Mental Health, Recovery, well-being

J Is For The Journey Of Life

Life-is-a-journey

As the late, great John Lennon once sang ‘life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans‘. We can’t control every little thing no matter how hard we try but part of the thrill of life is those unexpected twists and turns. You start on one course and end up on a very different one…

I know my life hasn’t always gone as planned, but that journey has taken me to places I may never have visited of my own free volition. I never planned to succumb to depression – well let’s face it no one would – but that journey lead me to discover so much about myself. It is now very much a part of what makes me, me!

In all likelihood, I would have never started this blog or met some of the incredible people who have inspired me to keep writing. Looking back on my journey to date, some of the most memorable times in my life were the unplanned ones, the ones that just came about.

So for today, I’m happy to be me and to have friends who accept me for who I am. I now look forward to tomorrow and all that it may bring, like a blank page in a notebook waiting to be filled…

About D.J. Haswell

I battled with depression, brought on by stress, for 10 years. During that time, I made many mistakes, due in no small part to the fact that I perceived my illness as a failing on my part. It took me a long time, coupled with hindsight, to realise that I hadn’t failed in my life, but rather that the circumstance of my life had failed me. I started my blog to bring hope to those currently suffering from the debilitating effects of depression that there is light at the end of what may seem like an unending tunnel!

Discussion

16 thoughts on “J Is For The Journey Of Life

  1. I love your blog – I look forward to every post!

    Posted by suzie81 | May 26, 2013, 6:30 PM
  2. I absolutely love this blog. I started writing recently, and I really enjoy it. I was in a really dark place with my life and this helped me find myself and be productive. Best of luck with everything and keep on writing πŸ™‚

    Posted by aregularcupofjo | May 26, 2013, 7:51 PM
  3. Great post! I love the quote by John Lennon. Please continue to write because you are an inspiration to all of us! Your words touched me. πŸ˜€

    Posted by Vashti Quiroz-Vega | May 27, 2013, 2:32 AM
  4. It’s about all you can do, right? Live for today. No guarantee of tomorrow.

    Posted by Ray | May 27, 2013, 12:14 PM

Share your thoughts...

About Me…

The Vault

Awards

Enter your email address to follow A Mid-Life Adventure and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 327 other followers

